Gaaaaaaaah!

I keep telling people who come to me for help that it’s always the simple things. That little gotcha you forgot, glossed over, didn’t think about…

A simple thing. An easy peasy every day thing. Disable a column in a PeopleSoft page.

The code resides in an Application Package:

method MyMethod
  /+ &grid_name as String +/ Local array of array of string &enable;   

                   ...

  Local Grid &mygrid = GetGrid(@&my_page, &_grid);
  &mygrid.EnableColumns(&enable);
  &mygrid.ShowColumns(&enable);

end-method;

The above method gets called by a test method in another App Package – I’m using a tool called PSunit for my unit testing:

method Test_MyMethod
   %This.Msg(" ");
   %This.Msg("Test_GridUtils: Test_MyMethod: " | &WRK_TBL);
   &utils.MyMethod(&WRK_TBL);
end-method;

I attached a test page to the PSUnit component. I figured I’d be able to see the results after I fired the test.The test ran fine. No errors. But… the grid on the test page never changed.

I spent a couple of hours between meetings trying to get the grid on the test page to work. Everything worked fine. Just… no change to the grid. Worse the grid showed the data I sent to it as part of the test, it was the disabling of columns and the hiding of columns that didn’t take place.

After checking and rechecking syntax, spelling, specifications of the methods I was using I finally re-read the specification of the Grid Class in PeopleCode and found this line:

The attributes you set for displaying a page grid remain in effect only while the page is active.

Oh.

Placed the call to the method in the page activate event for the page.

Works.

A simple thing.

GAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGH!

About Lee Greffin
Just another programmer...

2 Responses to Gaaaaaaaah!

  1. Jim Marion says:

    I feel it. I don’t know how many times I’ve stumbled because of some qualification in PeopleBooks I didn’t take time to read.

    • Lee Greffin says:

      Thanks! Once I thought about what happened it made sense. I had gone my merry way working with the derived record that the grid represented in my methods, forgetting that manipulating the one did not necessarily mean I had a firm grip on the other! A good lesson.

Leave a Reply

